Time really flies past quickly. In a blink of the eyes, i have already been in helsinki for over 2 weeks. My finnish has grown from moi to hyvaa huomenta etc. Life has been pretty good, and I have had a great start to my life in Helsinki, mainly due to 2 people, T and J. Both of them are so involved in my life, that most of my happy moments were spent with them.
Other than spending time with them, my initial days were spent window hopping and exploring my neighbourhood, including bugging the school for the internet. My apartment is in a very central location, which allows me to rest at home in between lessons. My room mates arrived a few days later, and i am still having issues staying with them. I wondered if i am better off living alone. I just cant understand why you need 4 people to cook a meal, the need to do things together, and a litre of dish washer was used up within a month.
My first night in helsinki was spent @ T place. He is a very nice guy, and it is always fun to chat and hang out with him. He also helped me to move into my apartment. We had some snow fights, visit this finnish town with beautiful snow scenery along the way and some very nice chats with each other. Of course, i learnt most of my finnish from him. Unfortunately for me, he is seeing someone so yeah, off limits.
I spent the NYE and the subsequent few nights were spent with J. He is very much into politics and i just love debating about the politics issues with him.
Last night, we went for a drink and i left early. I broke my specs on my way back and was feeling down. Somehow, i managed to fall asleep as i was extremely tired, being up since 7am in the morning. He text me around 4.30am, that he wished to meet up with me. Few moments later, he was waiting for me at the main door. We met, hug and said goodbye, (sounds like the maroon 5 song), and had some conversation on the phone. I think tomorrow will be our first official date, and i am bringing him to the place i have always wanted to bring T.
I am getting rather emo these couple of days. Sometime, i think i am just looking for trouble, especially with T. It just have D written all over it, and i dont want that to happen yet again. Living without family and friends overseas is a very challenging task for me. Especially for me, when in Singapore, i have a number of really close friends. I miss them, alot, a hell lot.
I so much hope that there is someone like, leandra, lena, or pei xiu around, someone whom i can talk to, without fearing that they would judge on me. Being gay, means that i cannot share my issues with my roomies and it sucks big time. I just hope that i will find someone soon, whom i can talk to.
2 weeks in, settling into a new country is never easy, and i am trying my best to make it work. My new year resolution? to find the best in me, for i have underachieved for so long. time for this giant to wake up! You may find this entry messy, as it reflects my current thoughts, messy and emotional.